Multan Sultans team won their first PSL title

Under the leadership of Sohaib Maqsood and Rilee Rossouw, followed by a triple hit from Imran Tahir that led to Peshawar Zalmi’s collapse in the chase, the Multan Sultans scored 47 times to win their first PSL trophy on Thursday (25th of June), location: Abu Dhabi.

Multan Sultans beat Peshawar Zalmi and won the PSL title.

It was Multan’s all-around dominant display shortly after they started batting. The Sultan’s top players, Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood laid a solid foundation with 68 runs and 52 balls. The skipper was clumsy in the area, scoring in just one run, while Masood took seven innings to miss, broke free in the fifth, hitting Samina Gu in three overs.

Mohammad Imran eliminated Masood in the ninth round to end the partnership, while Rizwan fell behind in the next round, but this did not affect their innings much. In fact, Maqsood and Rossouw turned out to be more fearsome. Maqsood had 17 rounds in the thirteenth replay with Wahab Riz, and Rossouw suffered the worst treatment from Amad Butt in the next round. He took him for 20.

Sameen Gul duped Rossouw shortly after registering his half-century, but the wicket came after a decisive 98 run with 44 balls. Johnson Charles trapped when he scored the first ball and put Sameen in a hat-trick. He missed only five of the penultimate inning. However, 21 runs on the last attempt helped Multan regain some momentum again and they finished 206 runs for 4 balls.

Peshawar could not but go on the offensive early, unlike Multan. Actually, all the runs marked in the first five overs belong to Akmal. His opening teammate Hazratullah Zazay, who had only played three innings so far, missed six but was suspended in the next game by Blessing Muzarabani.

Jonathan Wells competed to stay in the middle but received 13 5-balls on a quick two from a direct batting from Rossouw. However, Shoaib Malik and Rovman Powell reignited the rush of limits by chasing 55 runs from 12-14. After the duo flew for six deliveries, Sherfein Rutherford tried to hold the charge with two sixes. Nevertheless, Imran Tahir’s triple at the 17 over was the last in the coffin of the Peshawar innings. Rutherford’s expulsion was followed by leggings, removing Wahab and Imran from the first ball.

Sameen Gul and Mohammad Irfan were able to hit the remaining overs, but they knew pretty well that all this was useless. Ultimately, they were crowned 159 out of 9 and suffered their third loss in four PSL finals.

Brief results: Multan Sultans 206/4 for 20 overs (Sohaib Maqsood 65, Riley Rossouw 50; Sameen Gul 2-26, Mohammad Irfan 2-47) defeated Peshawar Zalmi 159/9 in 20 overs (Shoaib Malik 48, Kamran Akmal 36; Imran Tahir 3-33, Muzarabani’s Blessing 2-26) for 47 runs.

We remind you that IPL 2021, which was postponed due to the pandemic, will resume very soon. It is scheduled to start on September 19, 2021.

IPL 2022 will feature promising young players.

The Most Youngest Players in IPL 2022 in India

We invite you to find out who the youngest player on each team participating in this year's 15th season of the league is.

Read about Two new Rajasthan Royals coaching jobs for Lasith Malinga and Paddy Upton.

Two New Rajasthan Royals Coaching Jobs for Lasith Malinga and Paddy Upton

On the threshold of the 15th season of IPL 2022, the Rajasthan Royals team has added Lasith Malinga and Paddy Upton to their coaching staff. 

Three Prominent English Players to Play in IPL 2022.

IPL 2022: Three Outstanding English Players

Prior to the IPL 2022 auction, the Board of Control of Cricket India (BCCI) was informed that English cricket players would be available throughout this year's season.

e BCCI has confirmed that the upcoming IPL season will be held on March 26.

IPL 2022 is announced for March 26

The start of the new IPL 2022 season is officially scheduled for March 26.


Post author